God Never Fails

I have failed at many things. Some things I knew wouldn’t work out but attempted them anyway. Somewhere in my mind I thought that if I just worked hard and pushed through that everything would work out according to my plans. After all we are taught to never give up right?

For as many failures that I have experienced in life I have also experienced some great wins. Some of these wins I have recognized as they have occurred. Yet there are many that I didn’t see as a win until I changed my perspective about life.

Winning and failure in my opinion are all relative. It’s based on how you define the two and how you apply that definition to each situation. I think this is where Thomas Edison’s quote about his failure rings true. In his effort to make the electric light bulb he stated “I have not failed. I just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” For the skeptic the opposite would have been true. Many of us in Edison’s shoes would have seen those 10,000 tries as complete failures and for some, we would have focused on how much time was spent with no true results and would have stopped trying.

In the spiritual realm giving up is not an option. In fact, when we take on the world without the one true source, God, we will ultimately fail. As much as we like to be in control of what happens, we must remember that we are not in this thing called life alone. God is always with us no matter what we are going through. In the moment when we think we can’t do anymore and it is time to give up,  that is the very moment that God shows Himself-but only if you allow Him to do so.

We must remember that God is really the one in charge of everything. There is nothing that we are facing today or have faced in the past or will face in the future, that God isn’t aware of. You see He already has the cure, the answer, and the path for whatever it is we will need. And His solution to our problems never fail. Unlike Edison who needed 10,000 tries to get the light bulb to work, God only needs one word because He never fails.

Ephesians 3:20-21 reminds of the power of God – “Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” This scripture tells us that God has the ability and wiliness to provide anything beyond what we can imagine. And the key is that it doesn’t take Him a lot of effort to do so. When life is hard and we feel weak, God’s power, grace and mercy is enough to help us make it through.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 tells us about God’s character – “And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” Simply put, when you are weak or you fail, God’s grace is enough to help you make it through and try again. 

As you go through your life trying to make something work, or trying to makes sense out of a situation; or create something new or even try to enhance something that already exists, it’s okay not to give up and keep trying. Remember to seek God and allow Him to do His will because His way will never fail you.

YJS

6 thoughts on “God Never Fails

    1. Amen! Yes he’s always forgiving and always there and sometimes the falls that we take are his way of showing us he loves us and it’s okay to fail. The key is to never give up! Thanks sissy I needed this!

Leave a comment